

# OHRAB ACHIEVEMENT AWARD 2022

## Celebrate Archives Month by Honoring the Accomplishments of an Ohio Archival Institution

The Ohio Historical Records Advisory Board Achievement Award recognizes significant accomplishments in preserving and improving access to historical records, in any format, by an Ohio archival institution.

All Ohio institutions responsible for archival records that provide public access to at least a portion of their collections are eligible. Eligible accomplishments include recent special projects or on-going programs that:

- **build** significant collections
- & enhance access to archives
- & develop effective digitization programs

Preference will be given to projects or programs that can be adapted for use by other institutions.

Because the award recognizes institutional achievements, individuals are not eligible. Departments employing members of OHRAB are not eligible, but other departments in their institutions are eligible.

Nominating letters should be no longer than two pages, 12-pt, single spaced, describing the institution's program/project along with its goals, accomplishments, and significance. Each must include the nominee's institutional name along with a contact person's name, mailing and email addresses, and phone number. If the nomination includes online collections, please include a link to the website.

Send nominations via email or U.S. mail to:
Tina Ratcliff
County Records & Information Manager
Montgomery County Records Center & Archives
117 South Main Street
P.O. Box 972
Dayton, OH 45422
937.496.6932
ratclifft@mcohio.org

Nominations must be received by October 31, 2022. Self-nominations are encouraged.

Questions? Contact Tina Ratcliff at ratclifft@mcohio.org or 937.496.6932



### **OHRAB ACHIEVEMENT AWARD WINNERS**

#### Previous OHRAB Archives Achievement Award Winners

#### 2021

**The Muskingum County Records Center** for its project to scan, index, and make available the historic records of the Muskingum County Clerk of Courts Office.

#### 2020

The Clark County Historical Society for their fortitude in saving the Society's collections from flood damage and for their resulting commitment to teaching others about the necessity of disaster planning and preparedness.

The Toledo Lucas County Public Library for their continuing efforts to preserve their vast architectural records collection and to make it accessible to all through the Architecture of Northwest Ohio digital library.

#### 2019

The City of Westlake Council Office for its dedication to preserving the history and the records of the City of Westlake and making them available to its citizens and future generations.

**The Lakewood Historical Society** for the creation of the Haber Family Center for History, where the Society's archival collections are now preserved and available to all.

#### 2018

**Licking County Records Center and Archives** for its commitment to expanding access to Ohio's public records through its outreach activities and the development of its new records center facility.

**Warren County Records Center and Archives** for its work furthering the digital accessibility of Ohio records by processing, indexing, digitizing, and uploading historic Warren County records to its website.

#### 2017

**Franklin County Children Services** for its project inventorying and cataloging a large volume of historical records documenting the history of the agency.

Nominees for the Achievement Award represented small towns and large cities; public and private institutions; universities, historical societies, and records centers; and a full range of historic records—maps, photographs, marriage, birth, death, and estate records, and more. Common to all their successes were collaboration, determination, creativity, and a passionate commitment to the preservation and expanded use of Ohio's historic records. Clearly, Ohio's historic records community is achieving admirable results.

More information on the award and previous winners at <a href="http://www.ohrab.org">http://www.ohrab.org</a> or contact Awards Committee Chair Tina Ratcliff at <a href="ratclifft@mcohio.org">ratclifft@mcohio.org</a>.